Elite triathletes assemble to take the 2012 Nepean title

Australia’s London Olympic representative, Brendan Sexton has decided to take on the Nepean triathlon in 2012. Brendan, the 2010 Nepean champion will come back to Penrith in an attempt to take his second Nepean title. “I just love the handicap format. Racing the other guys and girls for the overall handicap win is a great concept” Brendan said.

Sexton will have to overcome 2011 Nepean champion Tim Reed, Australian ITU representative Cameron Good and USA triathlete Tommy Zaferes. Zaferes competed in the US Olympic swimming trials before turning to triathlon and won the 2011 Alcatraz Triathlon, and will be backing up after the Auckland World Championships one week earlier.

In the ladies, another London Olympic triathlete, Rachel Klamer representing the Netherlands will also be coming off the back of the Auckland World Champs to race Nepean. 2010 Nepean champion Michelle Wu and recent Yeppoon 70.3 and Forster Ultimate triathlon winner Lisa Marangon will be the hot favourites in the ladies wave.

The handicap format will involve the leading men’s wave to start 10 minutes 53 seconds behind the ladies wave with the winning male or female claiming the handicap title adding $1000 to their already substantial $3500 winner’s purse. This unique handicap system has created some great finishes in the past with both the leading male and female in the finish straight going for victory.

Other contenders and previous Nepean champions entered include three time winner Nick Hornman (2003,2004,2006) two time winners Louise Mackinlay (1988,1989), Trent Chapman (1997,2001), his brother Leigh Chapman (1999,2000) and Adrian Cominotto (2005) and Brittany Orr (2005). Also making a return to triathlon is noted runner and 2009 City to Surf female winner, Melinda Vernon.

Comments are closed.