fbpx skip to Main Content
Join us on 29 - 30th March, 2025
2014 Nepean Triathlon Winners Aaron Royle and Ashleigh Gentle

John McLean Completes the Nepean

With prize money increased slightly from 2013 the elite triathletes lined up once again for the Nepean Triathlon.

The cycle course was amended to a safer one-lap course allowing more entrants to participate. Nearly 1,300 entrants contest the event, almost surpassing the highest in the events history.

The handicap distance was lessened this year (it is adjusted each year) and it was expected that the males may take the outright title. A fast finishing Aaron Royle pursued Ashleigh Gentle right down to the line. However it was Ashleigh who prevailed taking her first Nepean Triathlon title (after finishing 2nd in 2013). Aaron Royle took the male title for the second year running along with the race record time of 1 hour 25 minutes and 32 seconds.

John Maclean Foundation

An inspirational John Maclean completed the Nepean Triathlon as an able bodied athlete. John was hit by a car 26 years earlier while training for the Nepean Triathlon which left him in a wheelchair. The final lap of the run saw John joined by his many supporters together with Australian cricketers Steve Waugh, Glenn McGrath, former Wallaby Captain Phil Kearns and Surf Ironman Champion Ky Hurst all joining John on his final lap. John’s efforts raised $200,000 for helping young Australian’s in wheelchairs.